Slice of Life Reflections

I appreciate that the purpose of SOL is to write a slice, neither an essay nor an epistle but merely a moment. A pause in time. Easily digestible. A slice of our day that has had a lasting impact (therein lies the power of this writing challenge).

These vignettes are a platform to highlight our shared humanity. People across the world, speaking their truth expressed in a kaleidoscope of colours. Contemplative, whimsy,  comprehension, and awe are the voices our community have evinced.

In an era of divisive global politics, these pieces of writing are healing by reminding us all that we are more alike than different. I wonder by the end of this challenge what life lessons we’ll have uncovered via journeying through others’ writing and by mining our own psyche for that one nugget of the day.

Past slicers what have you discovered?

 

7 thoughts on “Slice of Life Reflections

  1. Mindfulness. Attention. Just savoring a moment–no more, no less. I usually can’t stop at just describing the moment, and I have to reflect or add some wisdom or bigger-picture thought. But that’s okay. I also love the fact that every morning I’m asking myself “What will I write about today?” rather than “Will I write today?” That’s big. Thanks for your slice!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really loved this piece. It really puts things in perspective. I like the way your piece flows and the change in sentence length and structure. The diversity works. My two favorite parts are “I appreciate that the purpose of SOL is to write a slice, neither an essay nor an epistle but merely a moment. A pause in time. Easily digestible.” and “Contemplative, whimsy, comprehension, and awe are the voices our community have evinced.”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What I have learned more than anything else is that I can write every day and still have ideas. I also know that I have to write for me, not anyone else. What I enjoy most is reading other slicers writing. I am consistently amazed at the quality of writing and how much I learn. My hardest part is narrowing my writing down to a slice- I always feel like I need to give background.
    Happy slicing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you SO much for your thoughtful feedback. I, too, am amazed by the quality of writing. I truly enjoy reading other Slicers posts and am inspired and encouraged to write. I love the feeling of community.

      Like

Leave a Reply

