Breathing Underwater

I’m a huge fan of Scottish singer songwriter Emeli Sandé. I’ve long awaited the follow up to her album Our Version of Events. I am grateful for her music as her soaring lyrics and breathtaking vocals take me away.

On Saturday I listened to her sophomoric album Long live the Angels. It was just what I needed to uplift me.  (I woke up with a bad pain day).

I believe in miracles

‘Cause it’s a miracle I’m here 

Guess you could call me spiritual

‘Cause physical is fear”

is the opening verse to Emeli Sandé’s song Breathing Underwater. This song spoke to me of the resiliency of the human spirit. I listened to this song on repeat and told myself:

I can overcome.

I can get through another day.

Today may be awful but I can get through it.

I can breath underwater.

 

One thought on “Breathing Underwater

  1. “I can overcome.

    I can get through another day.

    Today may be awful but I can get through it.

    I can breath underwater.”

    This is beautiful. I try to tell myself the same thing every day. Especially the bad ones. It’s harder than it sounds, but it’s also easy too…because there’s nothing else to do but get through it. It might be the hardest thing you’ve ever done, but we always get to the next day.

    Thanks for the reminder that today may be awful but I can get through it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

